Menu Close

The STAR Teaching School Alliance

Over many years the primary and secondary schools in the Sherburn and Tadcaster area have worked informally together sharing training, resources and facilities as opportunities arise.  It has become clear that our schools benefit from a more formal system of partnership.  Governors and headteachers carefully explored ways for our schools to work together in a way that goes beyond simple sharing of resources and commits us to a strategic plan of transforming school improvement in our locality.  We want to ensure that every child and young person in education in the Sherburn, Tadcaster and surrounding rural areas achieves to the best of their abilities and leaves school fully prepared to play an effective role in society. Therefore, a teaching school alliance was formed: Sherburn, Tadcaster and Rural Learning Alliance: the STAR Teaching School Alliance.


Each school maintains its own unique identity, and remains governed by its own governing body, but we have created a formal partnership together to plan and provide the best possible education for all children in our area. This involves working together on specific projects, improving communication and coordination, and introducing support, monitoring and challenge between schools.
We are very lucky that our Alliance has such a broad mix of schools, each bringing their own strengths and character to the group. Together we have the scale and the diversity to achieve real benefits for our children.  Together, we work on key training and school support initiatives including Initial Teacher Training (a one-year School Direct PGCE delivered in partnership with Hull University), Continuing Professional Development for school staff, and sector-led school improvement.

The STAR Alliance Strategic Partner Schools:

Appleton Roebuck Primary Saxton CE VC Primary
Athlestan Community Primary Sherburn High School
Barkston Ash Catholic Primary Sherburn Hungate Community Primary
Riverside Community Primary South Milford Community Primary
Kellington Primary St Joseph’s Catholic Primary
Kirk Fenton CE VC Primary Carlton-in-Snaith Community Primary 
Long Marston CE VC Primary Tadcaster Grammar School
Monk Fryston CE VC Primary St Mary’s RC Primary

Our Associate members are:

Allerton Bywater Primary School
Barlow, Burton Salmon & Chapel Haddlesey School Federation
Great Preston CE Primary
Kippax Ash Tree Primary School
Kippax Greenfield Primary School
Kippax North Primary School
Lady Elizabeth Hastings CE Primary School
Kirk Smeaton Primary School
Methley Primary School
Swillington Primary School
Whitley & Eggborough Primary School