Menu Close

The STAR Multi-Academy Trust


It is with great pleasure and pride that the Board of Trustees of the STAR Multi Academy Trust can announce that it became an entity on Tuesday 1 May 2018, when Monk Fryston CE Primary, Riverside Primary, Saxton CE Primary and Tadcaster Grammar School formally obtained their academy status. Since then the trust grew rapidly over the next two months as other partners converted and joined: Appleton Roebuck Primary, Kellington Primary,  Kirk Fenton CE Primary, Sherburn Hungate Primary and South Milford Primary. Since that point other schools have converted and joined, most recently Sherburn High School and Brayton CE Primary School.

All schools in the STAR Multi-Academy trust retain their own individual ethos and character and Local Governing Bodies continue to have a very significant role to play in the running of each school. 

Chief Education Officer for the STAR Multi-Academy Trust, Martyn Sibley said ‘this is a a really important day which marks the end of a great deal of hard work behind the scenes and the beginning of a new era of cooperation and partnership between the schools in our community’. He added ‘we believe that by working closely together and by sharing resources and expertise that we will achieve more together for our children than we would have been able to do as individual schools’.

For further details about the structure and operation of the STAR MAT please see our web-site at